Application and Interview Process

Thank you for your interest in Duke Diagnostic Radiology!

To be considered for an interview you must:

  1. Submit a completed ERAS application
  2. Obtain a passing score on the Step 1 USMLE
  3. Submit three letters of recommendation
  4. Currently, be in good standing or have successfully graduated from medical school

Duke Diagnostic Radiology reviews ALL applications submitted and received through the ERAS system. There are no minimum board scores or other threshold requirements used as a strict “cut-off” that would exclude an applicant from being considered. The entirety of one’s application and comprehensive achievements are taken into account when deciding whether to grant an interview.

We receive over 1000 applications and offer, on average, 75 interview slots to find the future residents who will fill our 10 DR positions.

Duke Diagnostic Radiology will be conducting all interviews during the 2021-22 season virtually. The specific interview dates have yet to be determined.

If you have any further questions regarding the interview process, please do not hesitate to contact our Program Coordinator, Candie Stewart at candie.stewart@duke.edu

A MESSAGE TO THE APPLICANTS OF THE 2022-2023 SEASON:

Our Recruitment Committee is in the process of planning some events for the upcoming application season. In the meantime, we sincerely hope that this site will answer the bulk of your questions about the program so that you can get a sense of whether you are interested in joining our community. In addition, our program leaders are happy to answer any questions you may have. Feel free to contact us.

RECRUITMENT COMMITTEE

Michael Taylor-Cho, MD
Residency Program Director
Duke Diagnostic Radiology
Michael.taylorcho@duke.edu

Dorothy Lowell, MD
Assistant Program Director
Duke Diagnostic Radiology
Dorothy.lowell@duke.edu

Candie Stewart
Residency Program Coordinator
Duke Diagnostic Radiology
Candie.stewart@duke.edu

Mohammed Al Tarhuni, MD
PGY-3/R2
Mohammed.al.tarhuni@duke.edu

Josh Boulter, MD
PGY-3/R2
Joshua.boulter@duke.edu

Drake Edwards, MD, PhD (IR)
PGY-2/R1
Drake.edwards@duke.edu

Corbin Ester, MD
PGY-2/R1
Corbin.ester@duke.edu

Gordon Glober, MD
PGY-2/R1
Gordon.glober@duke.edu

Scott Goodwin, MD
PGY-3/R2
Joseph.s.goodwin@duke.edu

Jack Frush, MD
PGY-5/R4, Chief Resident
Jack.frush@duke.edu

Joyce Hsu, MD
PGY-4/R3
Joyce.hsu@duke.edu

Kyle Itri, MD
PGY-2/R1
Kyle.itri@duke.edu

Dana Kerr, MD
PGY-5/R4, Chief Resident
Dana.kerr@duke.edu

 

Tori Larson, MD
PGY-2/R1
Tori.larson@duke.edu

Abigail Lin, MD
PGY-4/R3
Abigail.lin@duke.edu

Alex Miller, MD
PGY-5/R4, Chief Resident
Alexander.miller@duke.edu

Jacob Nast, MD, MSc
PGY-2/R1
Jacob.nast@duke.edu

Marybeth Nedrud, MD, PhD
PGY-5/R4, Chief Resident
Marybeth.nedrud@duke.edu

John Nemer, MD
PGY-4/R3
John.nemer@duke.edu

Randy Olmsted, MD
PGY-4/R3
Randall.olmsted@duke.edu

Parth Patel, MD
PGY-3/R2
Parth.patel086@duke.edu

Jacob Romm, MD
PGY-2/R1
Jacob.romm@duke.edu

Katie Shpanskaya, MD
PGY-3/R2
Yekaterina.shpanskaya@duke.edu

Joe Thomas, MD
PGY-4/R3
Joseph.c.thomas@duke.edu

Siddhant Thukral, MD, MSCI (IR)
PGY-2/R1
Siddhant.thukral@duke.edu

Tessa Zangara, MD
PGY-2/R1
Tessa.zangara@duke.edu

UPCOMING EVENTS