2017 Appleseed Resident Teaching Award Recipients Recognized

The Appleseed Resident Teaching Awards were established in 2008 by the Duke School of Medicine in recognition of the best resident educators who have shown a genuine passion for mentoring the next generation of physicians. The awards are voted on annually by the second-year medical school class and less than ten percent of residents in the core clinical rotations of Medicine, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Neurology, and Radiology are selected. Winners receive a special Appleseed pin and a $25 gift card to a local restaurant.

Winners this year with some comments from students:

Austin Dixon, MD, MBA: “ He is the friendliest and most kind hearted radiologist I’ve met at Duke. He cares so much about his patients and students, and has a ton of knowledge. He made sure to explain in detail what was going on to me while I was on IR.”
C. Andrew Robinson, MD: “He was inviting and good at teaching even though he was new to the field himself. He made sure each student felt comfortable and explained as he went along.”
Nicholas DuRocher, MD: “Best resident I worked with the whole rotation. Was so good at teaching and you could tell he enjoyed working with and teaching medical students. He was quick to explain things and spent extra time to make sure the students were getting involved and learning. “
Michael Cho, MD, MPH: “Devoted to student education and he really worked to involve students.”
Nathan Hull, MD: “One of the most proactive teachers I’ve met at Duke. He makes sure to go through every image with his students and really loves having them around even when he’s slammed with work”